Mollie Mail: February

 💌 Mollie Mail 💌

 Febuary

You thought I wasn’t going to keep this up, huh? Well, you were WRONG. I am sticking to this newsletter hyperfixation. You will have to pry it out of my cold (so cold London is so cold) dead hands. xxxxx

🎀 Mollie’s Monthly Memories🎀

🍖Baby’s First Sunday Roast🍖

In the first few days of February, Rory and I went to The Farrier in Camden for my first Sunday roast. I ordered the venison, also known as deer. The Sunday roast came adorned with carrots, potatoes, cabbage (?), gravy, and, of course, a Yorkshire pudding, which is, in fact, not a dessert, as some may believe.  Rory said it was not the best she’d ever had. I think it was good but not great. I see the potential, though.

The first time I had venison was when I was 19, and Elon University hired a local man to teach farming to 30 students for a month. One day, he took the whole class to his commune (yes, commune), where he made a stew out of a deer his neighbor hit with their car <3 I enjoyed it, but he was subsequently fired :( 

👩‍🔬Baby’s First Pub Quiz(es) 👩‍🔬

More firsts! Susana and I went to The Horatia in Islington for our very first pub quiz. There was tough competition.  Way too many questions about United Kingdom history, which was so random, right? There was a picture round where we saw young photos of famous people, and we had to identify them. I think I was the only person who got Stalin's correct. We think it was something in my Polish ancestry that knew who Stalin was. We came in 13th place out of 16, so not last!

Then, later in the month, Rory, Emily, Nivi, and I went to The Charlotte Despard in Archway for another pub quiz. When I say, these questions were harder than any exam I have ever taken, I am not exaggerating. Do any of you know the layers of a tooth? Or the countries through which the 49-degree earth radius passes? We did not. We came in last place iconically. The only things that eased that pain were the candy and shots the winning team gave us and the three-legged cat walking around.

💗Galentines Day💗

Arguably one of my favorite days of the year. And let me tell you. I went HARD this year.

I made cookies and, of course, some killer cheese dip. And queen Capella made sangria.

We painted candles and then made doodle pages for each other. Please see mine for reference.

We drank and told stories about foolish and failed romances. Perfect night.

🧳Nivi’s Visit🧳

Guess what? I have friends. And guess what? Sometimes they visit me. All the way from Scarsdale High School hails Dr.Nivi Ravi. She is not a doctor yet, but, in my mind, she is my primary physician.

Nivi and I had a BLAST. We did my first(!!!) English Afternoon Tea and the scones were impeccable.

We also went to Borough Market and got a creme brulee donut, which changed my life. At Spitalfields Market, I got a chai, which I dropped. They gave me a new one because, according to a worker nearby, I “wailed” and “screamed.”

If anyone is on the fence about visiting me, keep this in mind….

“Had an incredible time in London with Mollie as my tour guide! From afternoon tea to market hopping, we did it all and shared many laughs and existential chats along the way. 10/10 would recommend.”

-Dr. Nivi

🍷Barcelona🍷

¿Todos sabían que fui a España?

Yaz, Susana, Vanessa, and I took to the streets of Barcelona and we ATE. Literally, figuratively, and iconically. No piece of sausage or ham stood a chance.

Vanessa and I shared a bunk bed, where I made her take the top bunk, obvi.

We visited Colonial Güell, which was capitalist but architecturally pleasing, so that made it okay ❤️ . But for real, it was beautiful, and Gaudi’s work is just so 😍😍😍😍

We drank Vermouth and Cava, and only one of us threw up! Success!! Can you guess who? Sound off in the comments.

Did you know Ed Sheeran wrote a song about Barcelona? And it’s just as bad as you would think. I did, in fact, sing it through the whole trip.

🎀 Mollie’s Mind 🎀

NO MORE VALENTINES DAY SLANDER!!!!!!!!!!!!

ENOUGH of Valentine's Day hate, ok? I love Valentine’s Day. Pink is not only my favorite color, and the heart is my favorite shape, but we also get a whole day to celebrate the concept of love!! And if you know anything about me, it’s that I love love. Growing up, I always dressed up for Valentine’s Day.  Once, in 7th grade, I wore a shirt that went down to the right above my knees; it had a built-in belt and hearts all over it; it was pure 2010 style, and I loved it. I printed out 20 copies of a card I found online, put it in a basket, and gave it along with some candy to all my friends. How adorable was 11-year-old me?

Whether it’s someone's half birthday or Valentine's Day, it’s so nice to celebrate the people you love and have them celebrate you!!!! Of course, it's challenging sometimes. Trust me, HONEY, I know. It's a bummer, but I think after some deserved wallowing, you have to make the day as good as you can because the last thing you want to do is waste a day being sad.  I was not alone on Valentine's Day because I spent it with my friends whom I love. I spoke to my family, whom I love. And that's what it's all about, baby. To quote our one true god, Bell Hooks, "To love well is the task in all meaningful relationships, not just romantic bonds." ❤️ ❤️ 

This year, on Valentine's Day, after hours of school and meetings, Susana, Yaz, and I got some overpriced Italian food and walked all around Covent Garden and Mayfair. We also tried Buns From Home for the first time, and it was simply incredible. 

🍵 Mollie’s Matcha 🍵

Oh, you know I had to do a Barcelona matcha!!! I said, “Puedo tener un Matcha con hielo con leche de avena.” 💅💅💅

I do not have much to say besides that it was fine. I drank the whole thing, but there was a bit of an odd aftertaste. Yaz said their matcha tasted like a milkshake.

Should I move to Barcelona and open a matcha cafe? Sound off in the comments.

🎀 Mollie’s Music 🎀

My most listened-to song this month: Forever by Mumford & Sons

This song mentions the Thames, and I can’t get enough

Thanks for reading.

I miss you all so much,

XXXX

-M